Pipeline Page

Updated 3 months ago by Copado Solutions

The Pipeline page includes a lot of useful information about your DevOps process. On this page, you can view the different environments in your pipeline and the connection between them as well as the user stories ahead and behind of each environment and the deployment status for every environment:

The deployment status is shown by an icon next to the name of the environment: 

  • Green check: A green check means the deployment has been successful.
  • Red cross: If your deployment has failed, a red cross will be displayed.
  • Pause: This means your deployment is waiting for a manual action to be completed.
  • In-progress spinner: Your deployment is still in progress.
  • Yellow warning: A yellow warning icon means there is a merge conflict that needs to be reviewed.

Click on the status icon to drill down to the Deployment Activity screen where you can see a list of recent deployments to that environment:

In this screen you can find more detailed information about your deployment, including the deployment date, the status, the % completed and deployed, and the source org, and see if the deployment is resulting from a back promotion.

If you have an in-progress or failed deployment, you can click on the deployment name to navigate to the Deployment record and review the results to further troubleshoot any potential issues. Additionally, if your deployment is paused due to a merge conflict, you can click on Review Merge Conflict under the Action column to go to the conflict resolution page.

Click on Back to Pipeline to return to the Pipeline page.

In addition to the status icon, you can see in each environment the number of user stories ahead or behind:

If you click on any of the numbers, the list of user stories ahead or behind will be displayed, and you will be able to easily promote or back promote those user stories, or create a validation deployment before actually deploying them:

Deployment status icons and user story difference numbers are updated in real time. If, for instance, an in-progress deployment succeeds, the icon will be updated accordingly. If you have chosen to automate or schedule deployments or back promotions you will see the numbers of user story differences change in real time as well.

When you initially set up the pipeline, you may not see any status icons, even if there have previously been deployments to that environment. Only deployments done after upgrading to Copado Continuous Delivery will affect the deployment status icon shown on the pipeline.
Real-time updates to the Pipeline page rely on Salesforce's Streaming API. Using this feature will consume some of your organization's API usage limits. To limit the risk of inactive pages consuming excessive API calls, real-time updates time out after a period of inactivity. You can resume real-time updates by clicking the Refresh Pipeline link.
You can control this timeout period by modifying the custom metadata item called Streaming Settings. The field Copado Latest Deployment Streaming controls the timeout for the deployment status icons, and defaults to 3,600,000 ms (1 hour). The field Copado User Story Streaming controls the timeout for user story difference counts, and defaults to 600,000 ms (10 minutes). You can ensure real-time updates never time out by leaving these fields empty. This can be useful for example if you want to keep the Pipeline page displayed on a large screen in a shared work area. You can also disable real-time updates entirely by deselecting the Enabled checkbox on those two custom metadata fields.

The Pipeline page includes the option to filter the environments you would like to see displayed, which can be really handy if you are working with a lot of development environments in your pipeline. You can choose to hide any environment that does not have an incoming connection (those that are located to the left of the pipeline page). The other environments will be shown or hidden automatically, so that you will always see all of the “upstream” environments leading to the production environment.

You can also filter user stories by any field on the user story:

Filters can be saved so that you can reuse them at any time. You can keep filters private or share them with other users. There are no limitations in the number of filters you can save.


How did we do?