Excluding User Stories from Being Back Promoted

If you have a user story that is used to move components from your Dev1 org to your UAT org and you also have a Dev2 org in your pipeline, once you deploy to UAT you will have the option to back promote that user story from UAT to Dev2. However, if for some reason you do not want that user story to be back promoted and do not even want it to appear as an option to be back promoted in the Pipeline Manager, there are two options.

1. You can check the Exclude from CBM check box on the user story. This will remove that user story from the list of user stories which can be back promoted to any given environment. However, it also will not allow it to be promoted forward to any environment, which may not be ideal. We resolve this issue in the second point.

2. If you want to remove a user story from the list of user stories that can be back promoted on the Pipeline Manager but also want to be able to promote it forward, there is another option. Say you have three user stories that can be back promoted from UAT to Dev2 and you do not want to back promote any of them nor do you want anyone to have the option to back promote them. You can simply create a back promotion manually by clicking the Back Promote option on the Pipeline Manager. You can then add the 3 user stories you do not want to be back promoted to that promoted. Once the user stories have been added, you can then manually update the status of the back promotion to Complete and save it.

This will essentially "trick" Copado into believing these user stories have already been back promoted to Dev2 even though they actually were not. Once you have updated the status of the back promotion to complete, you can go back to the Pipeline Manager and will see those user stories no longer have the option to be back promoted to Dev2 from UAT.

How did we do?