Git Operations Overview
Copado's Git operations allow you to seamlessly manage Salesforce metadata updates in Git. By moving commits into the cloud, we are eliminating the headache of doing Git pull/refresh from the server to keep your local code, local Git repository, the online Git version and the Salesforce online code version in sync.
If you are a non-technical user, you will also find it easier to commit your work into a Git repository.
Git operations are available when committing changes in a Git Snapshot record or in a User Story record linked to a branch management pipeline. Below you will find a list of all the available operations:
- Commit Files: The Commit Files operation is available in the Git Snapshot and the User Story Commit pages. This operation allows you to commit specific metadata components of an org into a Git branch. You can use it to select new components that have not yet been committed in a user story or to commit an update in components that have been previously committed.
For more information about this operation, please check out the article Commit Changes Overview.
- Recommit Files: The Recommit Files operation is available in the User Story Commit page. This operation allows you to commit previously committed changes. When this operation is selected, all the components that have been previously selected and committed in the user story (User Story Selections) are automatically selected in the metadata grid, allowing you to speed up the process of updating your feature branch with the newest content in your org.
Additionally, if you have committed something wrong and want to get rid of the selection, this operation allows you to recreate the feature branch by checking the Re-create Feature Branch checkbox.
For more information about this operation, please check out the article Recommit Files.
- Destructive Changes: The Destructive Changes operation is available in the Git Snapshot and the User Story Commit pages. This operation allows you to remove components both in Git and in your sandboxes.
For more information about this operation, please check out the article Destructive Changes.
- Full Profiles & Permission Sets: The Full Profiles & Permission Sets operation is available on the User Story Commit page. This operation allows you to commit full profiles and permission sets from one source org into Git. You should only use this operation for profiles and permission sets that are new and don't exist in the repository as the file will be overriding any other changes if a conflict is found.
For more information about this operation, please check out the article Commit Full Profiles & Permission Sets.